Character Sheet – Our new Heroine

I mentioned that the biggest step I’m taking in this is changing the names, which is also the main thing that has people concerned.  I’m not going to throw them all at you at once, but I’m going to ease into it and hope that it won’t be too much of a shock to your system.  I want to show you that these are real characters and not simple name changes.  I hope to establish this in the first book in such a way that when I change the names in the second, you’ll still feel very familiar with these characters and won’t even mind that they are different – because they aren’t.  They’re the same.

The first one that I am going to reveal to you is Wendy’s re-imagining.  Her name is Wren.  (See, that’s not so different.)

About Wendy:

To me, the star of the show in Neverland was not my Wendy, even though the story was told mostly through her discovery.  The stars were absolutely the lost boys, and of course Pan.  To be honest, I never liked the way I chose to portray Wendy, even though I tried to fix her a few times, but she always seemed a little empty in the beginning.  Still, my version followed closely along some of the lines that were placed for her in the original book.  She was very submissive to Peter in a ‘good wife and mother’ sort of way, and never really questioned anything he did until she realized that he did not love her like she loved him.  Even though I intend to keep her as a largely non-violent character, I want her to seem a bit stronger.  I want to build her up without the ‘crazy girl in an asylum’ image and let you understand what she has gone through, why she loves the world of Nevermor and also him.  Identifying her reasons for these things is going to give more depth to the original story, which is what I always strive to do in the first place.

Without further ado, you may meet her.

 About Wren:

Wren is a fifteen-year-old orphan at Miss Nora’s Home for Children along with her two brothers, Henry(12) and Maxwell(4).  They have been here for a few years after their parents had to give them up because they couldn’t afford to feed them after Max was born.  Our timeline is England in the 1800s, so Wren’s life is not easy.  In fact, she and Henry find themselves working in factories throughout the days, and otherwise she has to perform chores around the orphanage to earn her keep.  She fears the day that Max will have to do it too, but he’s only four, and much too young for now.  Henry is drifting away from her as he gets older, and she doesn’t want to see that happen to Max.  She wants to preserve his childhood but that is hard to do.  All the while, she wishes for someone to come and adopt them – it is very important to her that they all stay together – but it hasn’t happened yet.

Wren’s head is filled with ideas of how they might be able to escape and live on their own, but nothing seems like it will work.  They are still just children, and they are lucky to be in the home.  If not, they would be on the street.  The factories are terrible, but they don’t seem so bad compared to complete destitution.

Eventually, Wren begins to have dreams of a beautiful place beyond the ocean.  She is convinced that she is really going there in her sleep.  When Wren returns, she begins to tell her brothers about this place as if they can all go there to escape their lives and be together without worry.

Wren desires a life in Nevermor, but gets a little more than she bargained for when she is kidnapped and taken there against her will.

Her adventure begins.

Wren looks the same as you’d expect – classically pretty with curly blond hair and blue eyes. However you pictured her before, that stays the same, except that she’s a little younger.

She has the same traits that you are already aware of.  She’s meek and kind, patient and forgiving, but she also has a defiant side and she can stand up for herself when she needs to.  She is fiercely protective of her brothers and always tries to put them before herself.  She is exclusively non-violent, and often gets discouraged that the others’ natural response is to kill their enemies.  She constantly struggles with how dangerous and violent of a place Nevermor is, and wonders whether or not it is really better than the life she escaped from, but she is also enchanted by it.  She is a sensitive and emotional person who gets frustrated when the others never seem to be able to understand her feelings, but they all hold her highly and respond to her fear and distress.  She is the most mature character and somehow can’t put aside her notions of fear and consequences long enough to be truly happy.  She is a young woman but also a child, caught just on the verge of being able to grow up.

Summary of changes:

Her name is Wren now, but pretty much the only thing I changed about her is the backstory.  Otherwise, you should be able to see how she develops the feelings and opinions that she has in Forsaken Dreamscape, and I feel like this new book is going to be very important for her character, even if the others are not really affected.

I have done away with the ‘mother’ implications, since I made them all older in this one. Now, Wren is simply the only female among this group of boys and they react to her more delicate nature, even if they don’t really understand her.

Wren.  Say it a few times to yourself.  (It has taken me a few days to get used to the new names as well.  That’s why I want to go slow so your mind doesn’t explode.)

So, how are you feeling about all this so far?  Any thoughts?

9 thoughts on “Character Sheet – Our new Heroine

  1. Janie Torrez

    Wow. I’m surprised with how much you’ve already developed this. I like the name,it’s unique. Does this mean her brother’s will live? I liked how traumatic her past was in Neverland. However,I do like what you have so far. You’ve already made Nevermor your own 🙂
    janie1617

    Reply
  2. Aurora Sparrow Mist

    I love the name Wren; it has a silent strength.
    In my opinion, Instead of using ‘non-violent’ to describe Wren, the more appropriate adjective would be ‘pacifist’. It’s more condense and flows more easily in a story such as this.

    Reply
  3. Shan

    I meant to ask if you had to rewrite a backstory in order to provide more depth for a rewrite of Forsaken Dreamscape, you would, in essence, have to write your own version of Barrie’s Peter Pan, right? Would you mimic the more childlike atmosphere? (Perhaps I’m just remembering that from Disney’s version), but regardless, I wondered–especially since your style was more dark gothic fantasy.
    I have to admit I’m a litttleee disappointed about ridding Wren (I like the name haha) of the “mother” aspect. That was actually one of the unique points that carried over from Peter Pan and into Forsaken Dreamscape. I thought you handled it so exceptionally well. But I’m positive I’ll enjoy whatever you do write, as well (= so good luck! Thanks for going slow with us haha.

    Reply
    1. misslanilenore Post author

      I had this big nice reply going for you and then I lost it, ugh. Okay, here goes:

      You got the right idea. This time, I’m just rewriting the base story of Peter Pan to serve as a book to stand alone, and then Forsaken Dreamscape will be an extension off the back of that. It is going to be dark and they aren’t going to be children, but it won’t be the same dead world from Forsaken Dreamscape. It will be a more beautiful fantasy world, but there are still dangers, such as in the real Neverland. I’m going to go into more depth in exploring the origin of the island and how they all came to be there, which is something the Peter Pan book didn’t really do. My reasons for why things are what they are will be different. There will be some dark themes. I have to set the proper tone so that Forsaken Dreamscape won’t seem to have just come up out of nowhere.

      They are not going to be children, but teens (their ages vary a bit). There will still be the same idea of not wanting to grow up, but instead of saying they want to play games all day, it’s more like they don’t want anyone telling them what to do, and they don’t want parents to accept authority over them. Instead, they have this world where they do what they want all day and all they have to do is avoid getting killed, and that seems to suit them.

      I removed the ‘mother’ aspect because I thought it wasn’t quite as relevant since they are older, but yet the idea is still going to be there. Wren herself doesn’t have a mother anymore, and she recognizes how important that is. She has some motherly qualities, and she enjoys their admiration, but she would probably be the first to tell you that she’s no one’s mother. The boys have been there for a long time, and even though there are other people on the island, they have never been exposed to a girl before – not that they remember, at least. It does confuse them, but they recognize her as a driving force, and she puts a new perspective on things. So, they won’t call her mother, but they will look to her as the female figure in their lives who holds the most importance. Their respect and love for her will still be there, and when they are asked who is the perfect woman, of course Wren will be the first one they think of – as many men do with their mothers.

      Even though this version will not actually be the original story of Peter Pan we led off from before, it should still remind you of it, maybe more than Forsaken Dreamscape did, and I think that you’ll be able to enjoy how I mirror it and convert the themes.

      Reply
      1. shan

        Oh I’m so excited for this!! Haha that’s all I have to say in reply to your lengthy one, which I do so appreciate. They way you explain the boys’ viewpoints on Wren sound essentially the same, which put a smile on my face haha. The teenage boy aspect (not wanting authority over them, never wanting to grow up), gosh ugh, it just reminded me of my younger teen brother who is in the midst of that mindset.

        Also, the opportunity to understand more backstory on the island (and even the Scourge, which totally reminds me of Dota. I don’t know if you play that game haha) is going to be wonderful. I’m already so curious about your addition/conversion of Forsaken Dreamscape’s island.

Leave a Reply

