Assembling my Playlist

Usually when I work on something, I put a playlist together so that I can listen while I brainstorm and keep the energy up for the project.  I don’t always listen when I’m writing because it’s distracting (depending on the type of music it is), but plotting is a big part of it, and I need to be able to see the characters moving around in my brain.

Weird, yes.  Helpful, totally.

Back when I was writing Forsaken Dreamscape, I had a whole playlist of songs picked out, but my computer got zapped and I lost a lot of those – I also forgot what some of them were.  But I do remember a few of them, and so I’ve gotten some of those back together for now, and added new ones.

I’ve made a playlist on Spotify, if you use that, so you can check them out and have a listen as you imagine all the cool stuff that’s going to happen!  If you’re friends with me on Facebook, you can link up with me on Spotify to see it.  If not, I put the list below.

Forgive some of these songs.  I fear that they show my age. Haha But you can’t change the things that inspired you, even if they are a little older.  They still sound awesome to me.

 

Nevermor Playlist

It’s Not Over – Daughtry (This one has been with me for a long time, and I pretty much consider it my main theme for the storyline, of Forsaken Dreamscape at least)

Wanted – Vanessa Carlton

Enemies – Shinedown

So Cold (Remix) – Breaking Benjamin

Made of Stone – Evanesence

Monster – Skillet

Knights of Cydonia – Muse (This one too, is pretty much my main battle theme)

Hero – Skillet

Time Is Running Out – Muse

Beyond the Sun – Shinedown

Whispers in the Dark – Skillet (This is a newer song I discovered, and really like this one for it too)

Bleed it Out – Linkin Park (Love these guys for high energy)

The Little Things Give You Away – Linkin Park

You Are Goodbye – Holly Conlan

Fully Alive – Flyleaf

Plug In Baby – Muse

Breaking Inside – Shinedown feat, Lizzy Hale

Haunted (Acoustic Version) – Taylor Swift (Specific version of this song. I don’t like all of her music, but I love this one)

Life is Beautiful – Sixx: A.M

 

Those are the songs I’ve chosen for now, but I’m sure it will grow.

Do any of you have any songs that you think fit with the story?  Anything you may have latched onto the first time you read it?  It would be great to hear your suggestions. =)

Leave a Reply

