Character Sheet – The Scourge of Nevermor

Ahoy!

I was going to save this one for later on, but someone brought to my attention that it is International Talk like a Pirate Day, so how could I put this off?  The character that I’m going to reveal to you today is a very important one indeed, who didn’t get as much attention in Forsaken Dreamscape as some people had hoped.  I’m going to remedy that in Nevermor.

If you read my The world of Nevermor blog post, then you have a little bit of an idea of what I’m  talking about here.

Me hearties, I present to you, your villain:

Jarus the Scourge

Yes, he’s a pirate.  He’s the evilest of the evil; he’s the worst of the worst…right? I regret to inform you that, for now, I can’t say very much about him.  No one knows much, and yet he has managed to cast a shadow of fear over Nevermor for the many years that he’s been there, and his battle against the Never-Ones seems endless and unyielding – not that he doesn’t torment others as well, but has a particular hate for the boys.

The book is going to tell us more about his story, so I can’t say too much except that this is his name change. Our old friend Captain Hook is now Jarus the Scourge, but most simply refer to him as the Scourge (especially those who aren’t his friends).

Summary of Changes:

I can’t say that there are any changes to make.  Because of how Forsaken Dreamscape was, I have a pretty clean slate here – except for what we already expect of our villainous pirate.  Tall, dark, debonair, ruthless and sophisticated.  He will be those things.  I’m not going to take his character portrayal lightly, and hopefully this will fill the void from Forsaken Dreamscape.

Hook has often been portrayed as a bit bumbling and easily tricked, but don’t expect to see that side of him in mine.  He’s bad to the bone and will stop at nothing to kill his enemy – though he’s been trying for many many years.

One more thing about him – and this is going to blow your mind: he has two hands. =O

____

Does anyone want to tell me what they expect from their wicked Captain? (aside from a hook.  I get that.)  Is he a frightening villain to you?  What scares you about him?

(Also, if you want to get in on the pirate fun for Talk like a Pirate Day, go here: http://www.talklikeapirate.com/piratehome.html

3 thoughts on “Character Sheet – The Scourge of Nevermor

  1. Rosco Leroy

    I can’t wait to see the world of Nevermor and meet your characters. Fan fiction is fun and all, but I think it takes a lot of courage to take a great story concept and make it something new. The Scourge sounds like he’s going to be a dastardly evil-doer and I can’t wait to meet him, and all the other characters. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Abby

    I’m sure that however you portray ‘The Scourge’, he will be a fascinating character, knowing your skill at writing. However, personally I’d really like to see a sort of twist in his personality. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

