Character Sheet – The Hero of Nevermor

Now for the moment you’ve all been waiting for: the announcement of what Peter’s name will be changed to.  This is one that I feel very certain about, even though it didn’t come to me right away.  I thought about it for a while, but this one settled in and I haven’t looked back.  I really like it and I think that, if you give it a chance, you will too.

Peter’s new name will be… (drum roll please…)

Nothing. (hehe, got ya)  But really, I’m serious.

This doesn’t mean that I’m not changing it. It means that his character will not actually have a name.  He will be known as The Rifter and will otherwise be called Rifter.

So, Peter will be known as Rifter.

I know I revealed quite a lot to you about Wren, but the Rifter is one of those characters like the Scourge, who is simply going to be explored within the story as Wren discovers the world, and him.  I already gave you some hints about this in the post The world of Nevermor.

As a Character:

There are going to be a few differences between his story and that of Peter Pan, but some things will be the same.  He can fly, and he has a fairy companion.  He thinks he’s the greatest, he doesn’t believe in rules and above all else, he has a deep, dark hatred for his enemy, the Scourge.

He appears to be around Wren’s age, though he’s not even sure quite how old he is.  He’s been in Nevemor for so long that he’s forgotten, but even in all that time, he hasn’t changed much.  He still has a terrible stubbornness and some of his brothers have quite a bit more wisdom than he does – though he’s not always willing to hear it.  He’s brash, arrogant and doesn’t like to be opposed.  But you will find that he has a soft side as well.  He can be brave, honorable, protective and even compassionate, just as long as he doesn’t let that pesky pride get in his way.

He may seem like the sort which you quickly realize: ‘what you see is what you get’, but don’t be so sure.  There might be a bit of depth to him after all, even if he doesn’t know it himself.

So what do you think? Is this a change you can deal with?  I have to say, I’ve already swapped the names in one version of Forsaken Dreamscape (still have the other) and I’m accepting the changes more all the time. It’s getting a lot easier, and I kinda like it.

2 thoughts on “Character Sheet – The Hero of Nevermor

  1. Janie Torrez

    It’s definitely something that will have to grow on me. But I’m not worried. He still sounds very much like the original Peter; proud, arrogant, stubborn. All things that make him an amazing character, so I’m happy.

    Reply
  2. Lia

    I love the name Rifter! I think it’s perfect! It’s definitely different and unique, and I love names like that. I can’t wait to see what else you come up with! I loved this story 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

