Real World Setting – Industrial Revolution…and Steampunk?

So far, I think the most difficult thing about this story is the ‘real world’ setting I chose.  I considered making it modern day and wondered if that would bring it to a wider audience, but I still love that older feeling of stories set in the past, and it just seems like it would be wrong to take them out of London – though I’ve also considered spicing it up a bit and making it alternate history, or otherwise adding fantasy to the real world and giving it a bit of a steampunk vibe.

But so little time is spent in the real world that I don’t think it matters much anyway. Blah blah, bad life for Wren. Blah, blah tragedy… And then the good stuff in Nevermor where I make all the rules!

Still, the backstory has to be in place.  Of course, with that comes research. So I find myself wading through documents about child labor in cotton mills.  Some seriously dark and terrible stuff. It made me kind of sad reading about it. Now comes the trick of taking what I learned and condensing it into just a few chapters, so that I don’t bore readers to tears with a history lesson. I think I’ve been able to do that…maybe. I guess I’ll see when it gets down to the line.

What do you think? Do you think it matters what time period they live in? Should I keep it along the same lines as Forsaken Dreamscape, or change it?  Did that bother you about the other, or enhance it?

6 thoughts on “Real World Setting – Industrial Revolution…and Steampunk?

  1. Janie Torrez

    I think times were harder then. However, if you could really dig up stuff about how children now a days, in the system have it. That could turn out much more interesting. I think a lot of orphans are put on the back burner now. It’s just something, at least us Americans overlook. ❤ janie1617

    Reply
    1. misslanilenore Post author

      I usually tend to lean more toward times and worlds with no rules. Back then I don’t think they even had birth certificates. Obviously children were not held very highly then and life would have been very hard. But I also think that making it modern would have a significant impact on Wren’s character that I’m not sure I’m willing to embrace… Just some thoughts. Thank you for yours! =)

      Reply
  2. diamond loran

    I think it should stay around the same time period as nevermore, making it more modern i think would change wrens character because back then girls were suppose to act proper and ladie like, and in my opinion childreb had it harder bc it was before child labor laws were in place. But good luck 🙂

    Reply
  3. Lia

    I have mixed feelings about steampunk, and am not sure how it would fit in with the novel, but I’m sure you can pull it off and make it wonderful. Personally, I loved the older feel to the book. Some of the words and phrasings you used simply aren’t used in modern day, and it gave such a whimsical feel to the book. Still, no matter what you do to Nevermor, I’m still your fans will love it all the same. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Sarah

    I’d go with the steampunk, it gives the story more edge to it. Although, it may already have a lot of edge to it, a little more couldn’t hurt, could it? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

