Basic Update – wordcount, prepping for NaNo, random thoughts

I got some good writing done Wednesday and reached my goal for the day, putting me at 45k with 95 pages. That feels pretty good! I have really come a long way in such a short time!  In the past, I always wrote chapter by chapter and edited as I went (I’m still going to divide it up into chapters and look at them individually as part of my editing) but ever since I wrote Rickety House for NaNo two years ago, I’ve been unable to do it that way.  During that project was the first time I had ever written anything all in one document, looking at it as a continuous story as I wrote it, and I just haven’t been able to go back to the other way since.

At the risk of getting wayyy off base, let me talk about that briefly. I say that writing Rickety House ruined me because I did it this way, and for a long time afterward I had terrible writer’s block. I couldn’t go back to my old way and yet couldn’t progress to the new way either. Also, before Rickety, I found that I could barely write if I wasn’t posting each chapter online for other people to see. That story showed me that I didn’t have to do that and I could trust myself to finish without other people seeing it, yet also left me feeling confused about how to begin anything else afterward.

I digress. back to the subject (if there was one).

Lately I’ve been able to get a handle on a few things in Nevermor that had me stumped previously, such as what to write for battle scenes and being able to get into Rifter’s pov. The Scourge has also been on my mind lately, because I’m getting ready to really bring out his character. Of course, my mind is always busy, as it should be when writing a book. There are so many details to think about and get straight.  Also, it helps keep me sane.

The sorts of things that have crossed my mind lately:

– Focusing on fight scenes and monsters. (I love me some monsters)

– Doing a lot of thinking about the Scourge and who he is as a character

– I am STILL figuring out the Rifter for myself.

– Need to get my events in order for the second half of the book.

-Trying to keep myself from rethinking the opening chapters until later…

– Trying to decide how to promote and get more attention for Nevermor

And many other things. It never really stops until it’s over. :p

November is drawing closer, and I really hope I can get to the point in the story where I want to be before then! I think it will be downhill from there, easier.  I expect it to be fast-paced and hopefully it will just roll out onto the pages – even though there is still a lot that needs to be done!

Once again, thank you all for checking in on the blog! I just can’t say that enough. To know that you’re interested means a lot and I really can’t wait for you all to read it!

Don’t forget about the mug contest, which is still going to be open throughout November! https://projectnevermor.wordpress.com/2012/10/19/contest-win-a-signed-project-nevermor-mug/

2 thoughts on “Basic Update – wordcount, prepping for NaNo, random thoughts

    1. misslanilenore Post author

      Hmm, it’s a good question. Actually, I think Nevermor is the first thing that I’ve stuck with since then. Last year was busy for me, but I kept trying to write something new and it didn’t work out. I think I wrote a short story or something, but I just couldn’t get back on track. I edited some of my older stuff (like what I posted on Wattpad that I had already written) but even that couldn’t help me. I planned to force myself to write by doing NaNo last year, and I did have a story that I was ready to work on, but I couldn’t get into it. I think I did eventually write a couple of chapters, but I didn’t go forward.

      Then early this year, I made a friend who was trying to get back into writing after a long while too, so as an exercise, we started writing one together. We would go back and forth writing chapters. (It’s my turn, by the way, and we didn’t finish it. :P) But that helped. Just anything to actually DO some writing was nice, and since I didn’t really know where that story was going, it took some of the pressure out of building a plot and relaxed me so that I was able to just write. It was good just to get some words on the page, even if it was all over the place. :p

      After that, I thought I was ready to stick to something of my own, so I dug up an old idea and wrote a few chapters on it, but the plot was so complex and I was stressing over the delivery (and doubting I could do it) so I had to stop. It was just too heavy to think about. So even though I was writing, I believe I was still suffering from writer’s block at that time. That wasn’t very long ago – maybe a couple of months.

      I think the way I got over it, really, was that I had forgotten to have FUN with writing. It was like I just wanted to create this super brilliant thing (and I still do) but with that came so much stress that I couldn’t do it. I just had to let go a little bit. I wrote a few small pieces just for fun (that will probably never see the light of day) but at least I was writing, and I didn’t feel the pressure. Writing this one has been fun for me so far and I haven’t felt that in a while with a bigger project. Plus, I’ve made it public and promised others that I was going to do it. My determination to self-publish has also helped to drive me.

      But, bottom line, I guess I just had to remember to loosen up and have fun. Once you get yourself back on track, the more difficult stories will be easier to tackle later.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

