It’s NaNo Time!!

Just to be clear, yes, NaNo Time IS like Hammer Time, and whenever you declare it, you have to start break-dancing.  If you don’t have any idea what that is a reference to…then I’m sorry. :p

Anyway! It’s time to put on my hand warmer thingies, get my Project Nevermor mug and start to work!  …but only for a couple of hours, because then I have to go to real work. Ugh!  I hate real work. Nevertheless, I’m determined to gain some ground before then – and possibly sneak some writing time in at work! Shhhh

For now, I’ve skipped over some major holes and I’m going on with the storyline! It really seems like the proper thing to do. Story holes and missing fight scenes be damned! (maybe – until later at least) So now I have to set myself to work!

I did get a neat idea a few minutes ago that is different from the direction I was going in, but might require me to backtrack.  See?  You never know what new plot twists will come up as you go along, and I think it’s important to leave room for that sort of thing.

While I’m at it, do you think it’s fair that I should be able to count my blog posts as word count? hehe …yeah I guess not. This morning I’ve already been distracted by this blog, and by putting new music on my ipod to listen at work…for, you know, motivational story-building purposes.

Also, a big THANKS! to all who voted for Forsaken Dreamscape in the Watty Awards.  I don’t know what will come of it, but we can hope for the best!

*****

Just as a side note here at the bottom, I have a question: How important do you think it is that Nevermor should be, hm, creepy?  I mean, there are definitely some unusual things about it, and that’s sort of what I do, but is that a very important draw for you? What did you like best about Forsaken Dreamscape? (other than the fact that it was Peter Pan) Be honest!

7 thoughts on “It’s NaNo Time!!

  1. Janie Torrez

    The creepiness is a must in my opinion. It definitely piqued my interest right away and took me on a different, more grown up journey. I love fairytales and fantasy but you created a different world, that played out magically, while I read.

    The way you painted the world in Forsaken Dreamscape, was unlike anything I have read. I saw the fiery bear and burning forest. The wicked, demon mermaid clawing at Wendy, dragging her to the black water. The way Curly’s tinklin eyes glowed in the darkness. The fierce way in which the Lost Boys battled the dirty Pirates and Zombie hordes. Nibs'(Peter) blonde hair and scared eye, as he spoke to Wendy, pushing her to understand. And Peter’s(demon) mischievous smile as he plotted the demise of the true Peter and the Lost Boys. Even John and Michael’s tragic death, was shocking but gripping. The darkness kept me on edge and wanting more. I saw every bit of that world.

    I loved all of it but one thing really made my heart speed up, was the shadows. In Peter Pan, I remember the Shadows but they never felt alive. Even though they were. From the very beginning, I saw them in my head as naughty almost malicious entities. Then the Wendy shadow bothering Nibs'(Peter) in the tent. Who would have thought a pair of shadows, would make me blush. I loved it.

    Reply
    1. misslanilenore Post author

      Yes, I do intend to keep the shadows, even though I already changed them just a bit, I should still be able to use them in the same way. There are some creepy moments, but I’m trying to make sure I have enough of that. There is just a lot of introduction stuff to do, and I think I’ve been wading through all that and making sure it’s all there. Maybe by the time I get to editing, I can think of a few new things to add – but I may be confused. It may not even need it!

      And thank you for the very nice comments on Forsaken Dreamscape. =)

      Reply
    2. Shan

      I second this. In particular, the shadows really stuck with me as well. They stayed the most solid in my memory when I reminisced on Forsaken Dreamscape.

      The only thing I’d add is that the change itself from the original idea of Peter Pan to the creepiness in Dreamscape contributed a lot to its appeal. It’s BECAUSE Peter Pan did not ring as creepy in my mind–meaning the transition from “non-creepy”–if you will–to creepy is a large part of its draw (at least for me). And I also loved the way you gave individuality to each of the Lost Boys. That was done so splendidly, because I could love each and every one as his own. As in, I would totally read their own stories.

      And most of all, I loved the mystery that kept me on my toes, and pushing me to keep reading; to bloody find out what was contributing to the suspense. That’s something else; you have an amazing way of describing things (in that “off” way) that tips readers off to something awry, even if we don’t know what it is. We simply feel it, and so the mystery–when it’s actually spoken of–falls neatly into the story. Then we have something solid to grab onto and hold in our mind as we finish the story. Thanks again for writing it 🙂 And good luck with NaNo!

      Reply
  2. Molly

    I feel clueless, but what does “NaNo” stand for? It’s probably something incredibly simple, yet I can’t figure out what it means.

    Reply
  3. Eilidh

    I thought Forsaken Dreamscape was amazing. The best story I’ve read in a while and the best I’ve ever read on Wattpad. It was in my “read later” list for ages and I started reading it a couple of days ago. I literally spent the whole day today reading it. It was like a book I couldn’t put down. There were so many plot twists I didn’t expect! I think you definitely need to make bits of it creepy. The story line was amazing. I wish I had your imagination! I’m really glad the whole story was uploaded when I read because I don’t think I could stand it if I had to wait in between chapters. The suspense would have killed me. I just wanted to figure it out, then another mystery would come up and I would ended reading into the early hours of the morning 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

