Mid-NaNo Update

I’m keeping ahead in NaNo and everything is still going well with the story. I can almost see myself finishing this week…  That might be pushing it. I still have a few holes to fill in and I need to get the ending done, but I am actually at the final showdown already! I have 36K in NaNo words and a total of 88.5K! Once it’s finished, I’ll probably fall over.

Seriously, this has been a roller-coaster of writing! But it’s been fun and the story is good, so I don’t regret it. I also don’t want you all to think I’m rushing it too much. I promise to spend plenty of time editing it before it’s released, so you won’t get a steaming pile of…well, you know.

I’m trying to prepare a post about character building, but it’s not finished yet. I’ll have to work on it a bit so in the meantime, you get this one. :p I had always meant to put up some posts about my writing process, but then I felt that if I really talked about that too much, especially with how I came up with ideas for this story, I would give too much away! It’s just hard for me to put some of those things to words, but I’m trying to work on it.

A few posts ago, I asked about endings. I asked about a cliffhanger ending or a happy ending, and so let me ask this instead: what about a sad ending. Seriously, nearly everything about my ending is a serious downer, and I’ve been wondering if I should try to make at least ONE THING go right, but if you will all remember how the second one starts, that’s pretty much where this one ends.  It’s a fitting end, but if people are bawling their eyes out and everything seems to be in such a bad place, will they want to go on? I mean, obviously a few things will trail off to indicate that the story is not over and that there will be another book, but I just wondered.  What do you think?

5 thoughts on “Mid-NaNo Update

  1. Diamond

    I’m all for a sad ending! That would make me want to continue reading ecspecially with how the next one starts it seems only right. I’m puttinf away money as we speak to buy your book! ^_^ good luck!

    Reply
  2. Isis

    You should probably give us a little silver line of hope, for the next book. Because we read to hope for the better of each character. But I say sad endings are always very intriguing, but like I said, ‘silver lining’. Just that sliver of hope would make me feel that they will be happy, someday. 🙂

    Reply
  3. shan

    …I don’t want to bawl my eyes out T.T But it would be such an interesting contrast to have a ridiculously sad ending vs the ridiculously happy ending of the second… I’m not sure what to say haha. Completely sad endings put me off, but like I said, you have a part 2. Maybe it doesn’t matter either way, because it’s not really an “ending.” It’ll be obvious that it will be continued, so~ humhum.

    Also, any posts about your writing process would be awesome. Like, writer’s block and finishing a long haul and all that jazz. Good luck!

    Reply
    1. misslanilenore Post author

      I agree with that. I don’t like really terrible endings either – as you can probably tell because I don’t usually end on a bad note. But the way it’s going it sort of like one bad thing happens, and while you’re still like ‘awww’ about that, then another comes along. It definitely does not have a fully happy ending, but maybe I can deliver it in a way that isn’t too bad. Otherwise, there is plenty about the story itself that is pretty fun, and maybe it won’t turn out so bad after all. Delivery is important.

      Reply
  4. Abby

    I don’t mind sad endings too much, as long as they still have a spark of happiness in there somewhere. I know that I’ll still keep reading on through the series whatever happens, because I know how great the next book is, but I think that a completely depressing ending might put some people off. Hope this helps. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

