Chapter Trek

A while ago, I said I was going to divide the story up into chapters and work on it that way, but I never did actually do it…until this week.  And wouldn’t you know, it really is helping! It’s letting me concentrate on smaller sections at a time instead of looking at this huge jumbled mess, leaving me trying to find a place to pick up. I was just skipping over things going “I don’t want to write that part. No, no, no…” But now it’s like “Finish this chapter or you don’t get to move on!” It’s working well. Not only am I filling in holes, refreshing myself for the ending and editing a little, but I’m writing enough new words to go beyond my daily word count, so that is good enough for me.

I’ve gone back near the beginning to fill in some holes, and though it might be going just a little bit slower, I’m still getting new words down and seeing the story flow together.  Now, at least, I have an idea of the chapter count. The way it was before, I just had the word Chapter written in between some of the sections and I didn’t have any numbers put down there. Now I can see that I have over 30 chapters, maybe nearer to 40 by the end unless I combine some of them. That’s what we’re looking at right now.

I’m also pleased to announce an amazingly awesome total of 93K so far, and I got to 40K for NaNo. (Yeah, I’ve got this NaNo thing in the bag). But will I have the story finished by then? Forsaken Dreamscape rested at nearly 120K. This one should be nearly that big, I imagine.

Also, I’m giving thought to a book trailer project. It may not be the coolest thing there ever was, but I’m having fun with it so far. The only thing about that kind of stuff is that, since this is something I plan to sell, I have to be careful with the sorts of video and images I use – and that stuff is not cheap. There’s all sorts of rights and things I have to make sure I don’t violate, but because of that, I don’t have enough images to finish the trailer right now… Maybe soon.

But I really should be writing and not fooling with that right now. I can stand to put it off for a bit.  You know, I can’t believe it’s the 20th of November already.  Where has the time gone??

One thought on “Chapter Trek

  1. Abby

    It’s great that you’ve found a writing process that works for you, and that your word count is so high! 93K is amazing!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

