100K!

Milestone! I finally got to 100K! Are we finished? No. But it’s something to celebrate anyway. It’s also my intention to win NaNo today or tomorrow, so that will be another milestone. Then I’ll just have to focus on finishing the book! Even if I beat NaNo early, it’s still my ambition to try and finish the book by the end of the month. So I intend to make a mad dash for the finish if I haven’t already gotten there.

That’s the main thing I have to report. Oh, one more thing. I think I have finally settled on a name for Tiger Lily. I’m going to use it a bit and see how it works out. The name is actually one I was saving for another character in a different book, but one has to do what one has to do. For now, I’m calling her Calico.

Well, I did record a video excerpt, but then began to wonder if that was the section I wanted to present or not, and now I have come down with a cold and sore throat, and I can’t make another right now. >< So I may still release the one I have. Not sure yet.

Only five more days to go! And I have to work through some of them. Can I finish this in time? I’m going to try! It’s exciting to think it might be done soon. I feel like I’ve been working on it for a long time, but really not so long as far as writing a book goes. Though I’m not quite sure I remember anything else that happened during the time I was writing this, but then again that stuff probably doesn’t matter anyway. :p

Whoever says that being a writer is a lonely profession is probably not meant to be a writer. To me, being alone with my work is pretty much the best thing ever.

2 thoughts on “100K!

  1. shan

    Congrats!! Haha good luck with the rest. Also, I lovelove the name Calico. It conjures up a multitude of images. I’m a bit of a cat-lover (or animal lover in general), so the first thought is that Calico is beautiful, and the image of a cat reminds you they can be just a little treacherous, or at least secretive, independent–all the things I can associate with Tiger Lily. Beauty and danger, and least of all the stereotypical haughtiness associated with cats haha.

    And you’re right about being alone with your work. It’s nice to know others feel that way, too.

    Reply
  2. Abby

    100K! That’s great! I can’t wait to hear the video excerpt, and also, I love the new banner. It looks very intriguing. 🙂

    I think it’s going to take me a while to get used to the name ‘Calico’, but I think that would have been the case whatever name you chose, because ‘Tiger Lily’ seemed like the perfect name for her. In the end, it’s up to you, and as the author, you know best about these things.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

