Born in the Wrong Reading/Writing Era – Gothic Book Challenge

Though I like to dabble in different genres, any one who is really familiar with me knows that my true reading passion is Gothic horror. Give me a female lead in a dark castle or mysterious manor, throw in some spooky happenings with an intricate plot and maybe a love interest, and I’m right where I want to be. This is not only true in reading, but in writing as well. Unfortunately, even though that’s true, I’ve never read too many of this sort of book!

I don’t know when I decided that I even liked this sort of thing. I can’t think of a book that drew me in, even though I grew up reading horror books, but before I knew it, I was writing Gothic horror myself – before I was aware of what label to put on it!  My explanation for writing has always been, ‘I write what I want to read’. Truth be told, I’m always on the lookout for Gothic stories (aside from vampires, please) but when I go hunting for books online and type in ‘Gothic’ nothing much comes up. I’ve tried to look up online lists for this sort of book, and while I did find out that this genre was most popular in the late 60s/early 70s, I couldn’t find any that were still in print.

Since I didn’t have any specific titles, I wasn’t quite sure what I was looking for. I was lucky enough to unearth Angela Carter (The Magic Toyshop) and Shirley Jackson (We Have Always Lived in the Castle), but other than that, I was left searching for what I wanted in more recent books, and that was rare.

Not long ago, I was hunting for book lots on ebay and it suddenly occurred to me that I should just hammer in ‘Gothic book lot’ and see what came up. I actually got 2 really good hits for large lots of books, and they all looked like just what I’d love to read!

I was fortunate enough to snag a Lot of these books on ebay: 27 of them, to be exact.

(Just look at these books, and tell me they don’t look like me!)$(KGrHqJHJEMFJHtUl!oZBSSF5o7qI!~~60_57

Many of these books are not even on Goodreads or Wikipedia, and if they are, they have very few ratings, if any. It’s kind of a shame to me, and so in an effort to bring some attention back to this genre (since it is one I love to write in myself and will continue to) I’m going to periodically read and review these on the blog for the sake of helping bring out what I love and share some of these more obscure texts with others.

It’s not quite Nevermor related but it does have some relevance to me as a writer, to my other works, and will be something a little extra for the blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

