NaNoWriMo 2013

2013-Participant-Facebook-ProfileIt’ll be National Novel Writing Month again soon (November) and I don’t miss it if I can help it! The first time I tried it, I was unsure about the ‘fly by the seat of your pants’ approach, and my first attempt failed, but after discovering that I could plan ahead of time and pace myself in writing, I am now able to love NaNoWriMo, and I try to do it every year. After planning, I enjoy pushing myself to hit the wordcount everyday and finishing off with a good chunk of story!  (I rarely finish any novel during NaNo) Last year, I was working on Nevermor during NaNo. This year, I believe I’ll be adjusting Forsaken Dreamscape and starting Book 3 in the Nevermor trilogy!

I’m going to try not to let NaNo interfere too much with what I need to do for Nevermor and Forsaken Dreamscape, but it does mean I’ll be extra busy. I still intend to be active with the blog and keep you updated with news as I go along, but at the same time I need to get at least 50,000 words written during the month! It’s going to get a little hectic, but I’m up for it.

For those who are also doing NaNo this year, I welcome you to join me (L.C. Lenore), friend me, get some writing done, and even work to keep ahead of me if you want to. 🙂

In Nevermor news, I’m still trucking along with Forsaken Dreamscape and preparing it for publication! Even though I’ve already released a few of my books, it’s still exciting to have another book out for sale (and especially in print, which is my favorite thing!!). I’ve been more focused on the Nevermor series than any of my other works, but after this year I plan to focus on bringing a few of my other stories to the world, and maybe even write something new!

I have also been promising that Roses and Black Glass will be out in print, and I have a lot of that set up as well, but I haven’t managed to get the cover put together, which I find is the most difficult part. It’s great when I hire someone to do it for me, but when I’m preparing the file myself (with my crappy graphics programs) it never fails to annoy me seriously! But I’ll get there before too long I hope.

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2013

  1. Val

    This is gonna be my second year doing NaNo. I joined last year and I blew the 50k word count out of the water. It was a little funny, because I started about a week late, and then I was ‘way’ above the word goal after that first week.

    Reply
    1. misslanilenore Post author

      I usually start off strong, finish early and then slack off, because once I hit 50K I get bored. :p I usually stay well ahead of the deadline, but there’s always the possibility of slipping up!

      Reply
      1. Val

        I’ve found since starting NaNo, my word count has actually gone up. Yes its been a year since I joined, but when your novels normally averages somewhere between 50 and 70k and then suddenly they’re closer to 80k. Its a vast improvement in my eyes. I’m even taking a break from my currently novel i’m working on because everyone of my friends is telling me to do NaNo again this year. (Benihyme on NaNo, btw)

        I find it kind of nice to have that buffer so then that way if something comes up, you can slack for a couple of days and still be ahead of the game!

Leave a Reply

