Forsaken Dreamscape Special Edition Announcement

Exciting news! But to start, I guess I should say: I’m sorry. Some fans begged me not to change Forsaken Dreamscape from being an honest Peter Pan fiction, and I did it anyway. I took something that was loved for what it already was, and I changed it. Over a year ago when I started Project Nevermor, I wanted to make sure this story was something that I was proud to put my name on before I released it to the world…but at the same time, I failed to realize that I already had given it. I chose it in the beginning because it was very popular, but I wanted to be proud of it too. Now, looking back, I see that was wrong of me, in a way; to alter something I’d already given to people. Even on a small, indie writer, free fiction scale, perhaps that was disrespectful.

Still, I don’t regret what I’ve done with it, and I hope readers understand. I feel better about the story personally, and I like where it’s been and where it’s going. But the way I feel about it is not the only thing that’s important. Some didn’t think it was broken, and I insisted on fixing it anyway. So I do feel sorry for that.

This is my way of apologizing.

I will be releasing a Deluxe Edition of Forsaken Dreamscape, which will include the Nevermor version as well as the original Neverland: Forsaken Dreamscape. To clarify, the book is not as I first wrote it in ’01, but it’s one of the later edited versions from years later before I changed it to Nevermor.  All the characters have names from Peter Pan – pretty much except for Mach and Mech, which I had named on my own anyway. You’ll get to see characters I edited out, like Anasia Angeldust, and see the return of classic characters like Mr. Smee.

I decided to do this several months ago for a few different reasons. When I started this project, I had wanted to do away with the old version completely and never have it be seen again, but the more I thought about it (and the more readers asked me about it) I realized that I couldn’t get rid of it completely. Though I never felt that the story was anything special, I reached many people with it. There are still those out there, I’m sure, who read this story years ago and have perhaps forgotten about me, but if they saw it again, they would remember it. By changing it, I took away memorable parts of the story. I was also worried that someone might have a copy of it stashed somewhere, and because I changed some of the parts, might decide to steal the writing from me since it was no longer in use. This is my way of stamping the old version so that it still has my name on it. To resolve all those issues, this is what I decided to do. I didn’t want to release the Neverland version to stand on its own, SO I decided to do it this way.

With this deluxe volume, readers can enjoy both, and compare them as they will. If something is different in Nevermor than what they remember, they can look it up in the old version. For the ebook, I plan to have it set up where it’s easy to navigate from one version to the next by connecting to a title screen that will give you one version or the other. I’ve been working on all this for a bit now.

More awesome news: it’s also getting new cover art!

I wanted it to be special, so I didn’t want to just slap the same cover on it. I thought about it, but decided against it. How would people tell them apart?? So once again, I’ve commissioned the very talented Omri Koresh to design a cover for me, and I’m always blown away by the results. (Of course, I get excited every time I see a cover for one of my works or the likeness of one of my characters). I’ll be showing that to you soon, so keep your eyes open.

I’ll set a date for release soon, but I’ve narrowed it to July or August this year. It should be up for preorder on some sites before that, but I’ll let you know. In search, it’ll be titled Forsaken Dreamscape: Deluxe Peter Pan Edition. It will be in e-book and print forms. As you might expect, it will be a little more expensive. The print book will be thicker, even though I tried to make the font a little smaller to get all the text in with fewer pages. The thicker the book, the more it will cost to produce. I’m putting it in print because I suspect that some might like their own printed copy of the old story, but I also want one of my own. 🙂

Also, the blog should be getting a makeover soon with the new theme, so look forward to that as well!

KOBO READERS!! – I am so sorry, but I don’t know what Kobo’s problem is. The other version of FD is still not up on their site, and I honestly don’t expect this one to show up for a while either. I’m really sorry about that, but they’re backlogged horribly and there’s nothing I can do about it. Eh. You can probably get a version that’s compatible with your device at Smashwords.

What else! Hm, I guess that’s enough for today.

4 thoughts on “Forsaken Dreamscape Special Edition Announcement

  1. Shannon

    Hi Lani, congrats on everything so far! I disappeared for awhile for school, but when I read that you were going to re-release the Peter Pan edition, I came back to check it out.

    I’ll be honest, I wasn’t sure I would buy Nevermor, as much as I enjoyed FD, but rereading the bits you posted back on wordpress made me crave it again, and I think I’ll buy it for this summer. Thanks for taking into account everyone’s opinions 🙂 I’m not terribly thrilled knowing it’ll be more expensive, but I understand. I’m also glad you are happy with Nevermor (maybe I’ll end up loving that even more if I get on to it from rereading the Peter Pan edition).

    Also, I never responded to a reply you made. I don’t think you remembered it was me, but it was in response to why Peter didn’t tell Wendy his identity earlier on. I can’t quite remember my comment as well anymore, but I remember seeing your response. I was disappearing from your blog around that time, and never responded, so forgive me for the long delay and my not-so-clear memory of the comment and your response. You said Peter’s arrogance essentially compelled him, I believe, and I think i understood from that. I may have glossed over just how arrogant he was, but I had been curious as to its extent in letting Wendy go off to meet a demon on her own. I thought for sure his arrogance could never be that high. That’s a simplified version of what I remember, anyway, but I think rereading it will help, especially with your explanation in mind. Thanks again for such lovely stories.

    Reply
    1. misslanilenore Post author

      Thank you for stopping by again, Shannon! I’m pleased to hear that you might give Nevermor a try. I know that it’s different and takes an effort to get used to, but I think that if you can get into it, you’ll find that the characters and story are just so much more than what they were. I know I’m the author, but for me, it’s very strange to read it with the old names now (though I did recently for editing). The characters have become so much more to me, but it’s a matter of opinion, and some people haven’t changed their minds about it. It’s their choice.

      The ebook version of the Deluxe Edition probably won’t be much more expensive (it won’t cost double or anything), but the printed one has to cost more, simply because the cost to produce it is more, and not because I’m trying to make more money. It’ll still be the same for me.

      I think I remember those comments, but I don’t remember where they were…but yes. It was arrogance, anger, disappointment in her for being blind, and also an unwillingness to come back and be what he was – to accept responsibility for what he allowed to happen to the world. Like she was the thing that brought it back home to him and maybe, if he just let her go, he wouldn’t have that burden anymore. Buuut of course, he couldn’t. It’s selfish thinking, yes, but time had passed and other issues came into play.

      Anyway, I hope you enjoy Nevermor if you choose to read it. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Racquel

    Hi Miss Lenore

    when are you roughly going to release the special addition of Forsaken dreamscape? and where will it be available for purchase? are we able to per- order?

    thank you so much
    Racquel

    Reply
    1. misslanilenore Post author

      I’ll be announcing the release date and details soon in a new post. There will be some pre-order options, and I’ll discuss that as well. It won’t be long!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

