New Release Announcement!

A few days ago, I posted on Facebook and Twitter about an upcoming release this fall.(Yahoo!) But there’s actually more to it than that. No doubt readers have already guessed that this will be the release of a favorite, and a much loved work.

In September 2016, THE NEEDLE’S EYE will be published!

castleheaderlettered2

In a seaside village, three sisters learn the grisly truth about a beloved childhood fairy tale—and succumb to a curse more terrible than their darkest fantasies.

Though it is one of my most loved and possibly best novels, and though I wrote it years ago, it has taken me a while to work up the courage to actually publish it. The Needle’s Eye could perhaps be referred to as a ‘trunk novel’. That’s one that an author holds onto for a long time — locked away in a trunk, so to speak — waiting for just the right time to let it be seen. While I’m doing that with all my books to some degree, The Needle’s Eye is not one that I’ve been willing to let go of until now.

Many of my long-time readers have read it before, even while I was still writing it, but since the day I completed it, I knew it was going to be my first published novel. (Now untrue.) Over the years, I’ve worked on it diligently, editing, rewriting, and sending it out to agents.  Though I did have a couple of agents request the full manuscript, nothing ever came from it. Even so, I held onto the manuscript, thinking that one day this would be the work that got me traditionally published.

Even after deciding to self publish, I’ve held onto the idea that I might one day be published on a larger scale, and I was certain that this would be the book to get me there. But times have changed. Self-publishing is growing, and authors have more power than ever before. I’ve finally realized that holding onto this book was actually holding me back. By holding it so highly, I’ve been keeping myself from going forward and embracing change in my career and in growth as a writer. This book doesn’t have to be my best. Each new one should be better and better! That’s why I made the decision that The Needle’s Eye deserves to be out in the world, and this way I can go forward with my own work.

So! Look forward to this new release! I think you’ll love it as much as I do! I’ll have more details in the coming weeks. 🙂

3 thoughts on “New Release Announcement!

  1. scarlettewolfgang

    So, my sister has raved about Needle’s Eye for years. After reading the original version of Nevermor with Peter Pan, I really wanted to give it a try but unfortunately by then it was mostly taken down on Fictionpress because it was going to be published. I am super excited to finally be able to read this! I see that it can be preordered via Kindle version, but will there eventually be a paperback version as well?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

